# Europaudvalget 2004 Det Europæiske Råd 4-5/11-04 Bilag 10 Offentligt

edlemmerne af Folketingets Europaudvalg g deres stedfortrædere

ilag

Journalnummer Kontor **EUK** 400.C.2-0

I margin af Det Europæiske Råd i Bruxelles indkaldte formandskabet ekstraordinært til et møde

8. november 2004

i Rådet sammensat af stats- og regeringscheferne, hvor vedlagte afgørelse blev truffet efter fælles overenskomst med den indstillede formand for Kommissionen, om vedtagelsen af listen over øvrige personer, som Rådet foreslår udnævnt til medlemmer af Kommissionen.

**EN** 



## COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 4 November 2004 (OR. fr)

14104/04

**INST 280** 

#### **NOTE**

from:	General Secretariat
to:	COUNCIL
Subject:	Adoption of a Council Decision, taken by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission, adopting the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities, repealing and replacing Decision 2004/642/EC Euratom

- 1. In accordance with the first subparagraph of Article 214(2) of the EC Treaty and the first subparagraph of Article 127(2) of the EAEC Treaty:
  - on 29 June 2004 the Council, meeting in the composition of Heads of State or Government, nominated José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO as the person it intended to appoint as President of the Commission of the European Communities <sup>1</sup>;
  - on 22 July 2004 the European Parliament approved that nomination.

\_

Decision (2004/536/EC) of the Council, meeting in the composition of Heads of State or Government of 29 June 2004 nominating the person it intends to appoint as President of the Commission (OJ L 236, 7.7.2004, p. 15).



- 2. In accordance with the second subparagraph of Article 214(2) of the EC Treaty and the second subparagraph of Article 127(2) of the EAEC Treaty, on 13 September 2004 the Council, acting by a qualified majority and by common accord with the nominee for President, adopted the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission <sup>2</sup>.
- 3. In accordance with the third subparagraph of Article 214(2) of the EC Treaty and the third subparagraph of Article 127(2) of the EAEC Treaty, "The President and the other Members of the Commission thus nominated shall be subject as a body to a vote of approval by the European Parliament. After approval by the European Parliament, the President and the other Members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority".
- 4. By common accord with the nominee for President, the list must now be amended before being submitted for a vote of approval by the European Parliament. The draft Decision to that end, which repeals and replaces the Decision of 13 September 2004 and which contains the new list, is set out in 14096/04 INST 279.
- 5. At its meeting on 5 November 2004 the Council could, by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission, adopt the Decision adopting the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities, repealing and replacing Decision 2004/642/EC, Euratom, as set out in 14096/04 INST 279.

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Council Decision (2004/ 642/ EC, Euratom), taken by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission, of 13 September 2004 adopting the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities (OJL 294, 17.9.2004, p. 30).

# COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 4 November 2004 (OR. fr)

14096/04

**INST 279** 

NOTE	
from:	General Secretariat
to:	delegations
Subject:	Draft Council Decision, taken by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission, adopting the list of other persons whom the Council intends to

appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities, repealing and replacing Decision 2004/642/EC, Euratom

Delegations will find attached the text of the above draft Decision.

**EN** 

#### **DRAFT**

# Council Decision, taken by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission,

#### of November 2004

adopting the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities, repealing and replacing Decision 2004/642/EC, Euratom

### THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 213(1) and the second subparagraph of Article 214(2) thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 126(1) and the second subparagraph of Article 127(2) thereof,

### Whereas:

- (1) A new Commission, consisting of one national of each Member State, must be appointed for the period from the date of its appointment to 31 October 2009.
- (2) On 29 June 2004 the Council, meeting in the composition of the Heads of State or Government, nominated Mr José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO as the person it intends to appoint as President of the Commission <sup>3</sup>.
- (3) The European Parliament approved that nomination by its resolution of 22 July 2004.

OJ L 236, 7.7.2004, p. 15.

- (4) By Decision 2004/642/EC, Euratom <sup>4</sup>, the Council adopted by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission the list of other persons whom it intends to appoint as Members of the Commission.
- (5) By common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission, Decision 2004/642/EC, Euratom should be repealed before the list that it contains is submitted for a vote of approval by the European Parliament, and replaced by the present Decision.
- (6) The entry into force of the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe will entail the expiry of the term of the Member of the Commission who has the same nationality as the future European Union Minister for Foreign Affairs, who will be a Vice-President of the Commission,

#### HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

#### Article 1

The following are hereby nominated by common accord with Mr José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO, nominee for President of the Commission, as the persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities for the period from the date of appointment of the new Commission to 31 October 2009:

Mr Joaquín ALMUNIA AMANN
Mr Jacques BARROT
Mr Joe BORG
Mr Stavros DIMAS
Ms Benita FERRERO-WALDNER
Mr Ján FIGEĽ
Ms Mariann FISCHER BOEL
Mr Franco FRATTINI
Ms Dalia GRYBAUSKAITĖ
Ms Danuta HÜBNER

-

OJ L 294, 17.9.2004, p. 30.

Mr Siim KALLAS

Mr László KOVÁCS

Ms Neelie KROES

Mr Markos KYPRIANOU

Mr Peter MANDELSON

Mr Charlie McCREEVY

Mr Louis MICHEL

Mr Andris PIEBALGS

Mr Janez POTOČNIK

Ms Viviane REDING

Mr Olli REHN

Mr Vladimír ŠPIDLA

Mr Günter VERHEUGEN

Ms Margot WALLSTRÖM.

### Article 2

Decision 2004/642/EC, Euratom is hereby repealed.

## Article 3

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Done at Brussels, November 2004

For the Council

The President