

EBPOIREŃCKU NAPJIAMENT PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EVROPSKÝ PARLAMENT EUROPA-PARLAMENTE EUROPÄISCHES PARLAMENT EUROPOPA PARLAMENT EVPOINAÏNO KOINOBOVNIO EUROPEAN PARLAMENT PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN PARLAIMINT NA HEORPA PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EIROPAS PARLAMENTS EUROPOS PARLAMENTAS EURÔPAI PARLAMENT IL-PARLAMENTE WROPEW EUROPES PARLEMENT PARLAMENTAS EURÔPAI PARLAMENT IL-PARLAMENT EUROPEU PARLAMENTUL EUROPEAN PARLAMENT EUROPEJSKI PARLAMENT EUROPEU PARLAMENTUL EUROPEAN EURÔPSKY PARLAMENT EVROPSKI PARLAMENT EUROPAN PARLAMENTTI EUROPAARLAMENTE



Draft Programme

Joint Parliamentary Meeting

on

Energy and Sustainable Development

Thursday 20th November 2008 and Friday 21st November 2008

STRASBOURG

European Parliament Louise Weiss Building - Hemicycle

20 November 2008

From 10.00	Arrival of parliamentarians - Reception and registration in the entrance hall of Louise Weiss building (LOW), Strasbourg
12.30 and 14.00-15.00	Meetings of the political families Lunches and Working meetings organised by the political groups
	(invitations issued by the various political groups)
15.00	Plenary Session - Louise Weiss building, Room: LOW S1.4 Co-chaired by Mr Hans-Gert PÖTTERING, President of the European Parliament Mr Gérard LARCHER, President of the Senate and Mr Bernard ACCOYER, President of the National Assembly
15.00-15.15	Opening remarks Mr Hans-Gert PÖTTERING , President of the European Parliament, Mr Gérard LARCHER , President of the Senate Mr Bernard ACCOYER , President of the National Assembly
15.15-17.00	Statement by the Presidency of the Council of the European Union followed by a debate
	Mr Jean-Pierre JOUYET , Minister of State responsible for European Affairs
	Debate: two members of national parliaments-one member of the European Parliament on behalf of their political group
17.00-18.00	Statement by the President of the European Commission followed by a debate
	Mr José Manuel BARROSO, President of the European Commission
	Debate: two members of national parliaments-one member of the European Parliament

- 1st Working Group

Europe's energy policy and security of supply Meeting room: Louise Weiss building, LOW S1.4

Co-chairs:

- MEP
- MP

Rapporteur:

• French Senate

- 2nd Working Group

Energy innovation and sustainable development *Meeting room:* Louise Weiss building, LOW N1.4

Co-chairs:

- MEP
- MP

Rapporteur:

- Czech Senate
- 3rd Working Group

European energy policy, Climate change and International negotiations

Meeting room : Louise Weiss building, LOW N1.3

Co-chairs:

- MEP
- MP

Rapporteur:

• MEP

20.00 Cocktail and dinner

21 November 2008

9.30	Plenary Session - Louise Weiss building (LOW), Hemicycle
	Co-chaired by Mr Hans-Gert PÖTTERING, President of the European Parliament Mr Gérard LARCHER , President of the Senate Mr Bernard ACCOYER , President of the National Assembly
9.30-10.00	Presentation of reports by the working groups WG 1: MP/French Senate WG 2: MP/Czech Senate WG 3: MEP
10.00-10.15	Statement by Guest Speaker
	X.?
10.15-11.45	General debate with the participation of the EU French Presidency of the Council and the European Commission
	Statement by the Presidency of the Council of the European Union
	Union Mr Jean-Louis BORLOO, <i>Ministre d'Etat</i> , Minister for Ecology, Energy, Sustainable Development and Town and Country Planning
	Union Mr Jean-Louis BORLOO , <i>Ministre d'Etat</i> , Minister for Ecology, Energy, Sustainable Development and Town and Country Planning (Regional Development)
11.45	 Union Mr Jean-Louis BORLOO, <i>Ministre d'Etat</i>, Minister for Ecology, Energy, Sustainable Development and Town and Country Planning (Regional Development) Statement by the European Commission Mr Stavros DIMAS, Commissioner for Environment