

Brussels, 20 April 2010

## **Joint Parliamentary Meeting**

## **Draft Programme**

## Towards a European Energy Community for the 21st Century?

Monday 7 and Tuesday 8 June 2010

Hemicycle, Paul Henri Spaak building European Parliament - Brussels

Monday 7 June 2010		
From 10.00	Arrival of participants - Reception and registration in the entrance hall of Paul Henri Spaak (PHS) building	
12.30 - 15.00	Meetings of the European Parliament's political groups with members of national Parliaments	
	<b>EPP:</b> Lunch in Private Salon next to Members' Restaurant at 12.30, followed by a meeting from 14.00 to 15.00 in Room;	
	<b>S&amp;D:</b> Lunch in Private Salon next to Members' Restaurant at 12.30, followed by a meeting from 14.00 to 15.00 in Room;	
	ALDE: Lunch in Private Salon next to Members' Restaurant at 12.30 followed by a meeting from 14.00 to 15.00 in Room;	
	Greens/EFA: Working Lunch from 12.30 to 15.00 in the meeting Room ASP 5 E 1;  ECR: Working Lunch in the Members' Restaurant/Salon	
	GUE/NGL: No meeting foreseen; EFD: Meeting from 14.00 to 15.00 in Room	
	(Members' Restaurant/Salon, Ground Floor, Altiero Spinelli building (ASP), all invitations/arrangements by political groups).	
15.00	Plenary Session - Room: Hemicycle, 3rd floor, Paul Henri Spaak (PHS) building	
	Co-chaired by: Mr Jerzy <b>BUZEK</b> , President of the European Parliament	
	Mr José <b>BONO MARTÍNEZ</b> , President of the Spanish Congress of Deputies	
	Mr Francisco Javier <b>ROJO GARCÍA</b> , President of the Spanish Senate	
15.00 -15.20	Opening of the Joint Parliamentary Meeting: Mr Jerzy BUZEK, President of the European Parliament Mr José BONO MARTÍNEZ, President of the Spanish Congress of Deputies Mr Francisco Javier ROJO GARCÍA, President of the Spanish Senate	
15.20 -15.40	Presentation by the foreseen Guest Speaker:	
	Mr Marc <b>VAN DER WOUDE</b> , Professor of Energy Law at Kings College London and of Competition Law at the University of Rotterdam (tbc)	

15.40 -17.00	Debate  Speakers in the ratio of one Member of the European Parliament per two Members of national Parliaments
17.00 -19.00	Working Groups
	Working Group I "Energy Security - diversity, solidarity and interdependence in energy supply"  Meeting room: Hemicycle, 3rd floor, PHS building  Co-chairs:  • MEP • MP  Rapporteur: • MEP, EPP Group
	Working Group II "Energy Single Market - competition, regulation and pricing for energy"  Meeting room: 3C050, 3rd floor, PHS building  Co-chairs:  • MP  • MEP  Rapporteur:  • MP
	Working Group III "Energy and Environment - new and renewable energies and technologies"  Meeting room: 1A002, 1st floor, PHS building  Co-chairs:  • MEP • MP  Rapporteur: • MP
19.30	Cocktail, followed by a buffet Dinner hosted by the President of the European Parliament, Mr Jerzy BUZEK <u>Dinner venue</u> : Espace Yehudi Menuhin, Paul Henri Spaak  Building, 1st floor

Tuesday 8 June 2010		
9.30	Plenary Session - Room: Hemicycle, 3rd floor, Paul Henri Spaak (PHS) building  Co-chaired by: Mr Jerzy BUZEK, President of the European Parliament Mr José BONO MARTÍNEZ, President of the Spanish Congress of Deputies Mr Francisco Javier ROJO GARCÍA, President of the Spanish Senate	
9.30 -10.00	Presentation of reports by the Working Groups  WG I: MEP, EPP Group  WG II: MP  WG III: MP	
10.00 - 10.10	Statement by the Presidency of the Council of the European Union  Mr Miguel SEBASTIÁN GASCÓN, Minister of Industry, Tourism and Trade of the Government of Spain (tbc)	
10.10 - 10.20	Statement by the European Commission  President/Commissioner (tbc)	
10.20 - 12.30	Debate with the participation of the Presidency of the Council of the European Union and the European Commission	
12.30	Concluding remarks  Mr Jerzy BUZEK, President of the European Parliament Mr José BONO MARTÍNEZ, President of the Spanish Congress of Deputies Mr Francisco Javier ROJO GARCÍA, President of the Spanish Senate	
12.45	End of the Joint Parliamentary Meeting	