Dear Sir, Madam,

On behalf of the European Parliament, the Danish Presidency of the Council, and the European Commission, we have the pleasure of inviting you to the second high-level conference on the next EU Multiannual Financial Framework and Own Resources (MFF-OR) for 2014-2020 taking place at the <u>European Parliament in Brussels on Thursday 22 March</u>.

Whilst the first MFF-conference held in October 2011 was devoted to exchanging views with businesses, NGOs, independent analysts and other stakeholders, the aim of this conference is to deepen the discussion between the key actors involved in the process of finalising the next MFF and OR. Hence, the European Parliament, the Danish Presidency of the Council, and the European Commission have decided to invite representatives of National Parliaments, the Committee of the Regions, the European Economic and Social Committee, and the Court of Auditors to set aside a full day to exchange views on different aspects of the multiannual financial framework and own resources. The entire conference will be webstreamed to allow for all interested parties to follow the debates.

The conference will start on Thursday morning with an opening session where the Presidents of the European Parliament, the Council, and the European Commission will share their views on the future of the MFF and OR. The conference will conclude in the late afternoon.

The outcome of the conference will depend on broad and active participation. Therefore, we hope that you will be able to take part in the event and contribute to ensuring a broader understanding of the challenges and possibilities in designing the EU Multiannual Financial Framework and Own Resources for 2014 -2020.

We are thus very pleased to invite up to four members from the competent committees of your Parliament (two for each Chamber for bicameral Parliaments). Participation should be confirmed by 12 March 2012 through the on-line registration link which will be sent to your Parliament's representatives based in Brussels, by the relevant services of the European Parliament.

For further details, see enclosed a draft programme of the Conference.

Martin Schulz President of the European Parliament

Helle Thorning Schmidt President of the Council Prime Minister of Denmark José Manuel Barroso President of the European Commission