Europaudvalget 2012-13 EUU Alm.del Bilag 316 Offentligt



The Blueprint for a deep and genuine EMU: Debating the future economic, monetary, banking and political union

CONFERENCE DRAFT PROGRAMME

Tuesday 7 May 2013 Charlemagne building, European Commission

- 08:45 09:45 Registration
- 09:45 10:30 Welcome by Jean-Claude Thébault, Director General of the Bureau of European Policy Advisors (BEPA), European Commission

Keynote address

José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission

10:30 – 11:45 The future of EMU: Deepening the debate

Olli Rehn, Vice President of the European Commission and member of the Commission responsible for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Euro

Jeroen Dijsselbloem, President of the Euro Group, Minister of Finance, the Netherlands

Vitor Gaspar, Minister of Finance, Portugal

<u>Moderator</u>: Stephen Fidler, Brussels Bureau Chief, Wall Street Journal



11:45 – 13:00 Economic governance: Restoring confidence and anchoring stability

<u>Presentation</u>: Marco Buti, Director-General ECFIN, European Commission

Panel members:

Sharon Bowles, MEP, Chair of the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee, European Parliament

Minister/ Member of Parliament – Germany

<u>Moderator</u>: Peter Spiegel, Brussels Bureau Chief, Financial Times

13:00–14:30 Lunch

14:30–15:45 Banking Union: towards a more stable, competitive and resilient banking sector

<u>Presentation</u>: Olivier Guersent, Head of Cabinet to Commissioner Barnier

Panel members:

Marianne Thyssen, MEP

Kai Jan Krainer MP, Budget and Finance Spokesman, Social Democratic Party, Nationalrat, Austria

Andrea Enria, Chairperson of the European Banking Authority

<u>Moderator</u>: Caroline de Gruyter, Brussels Correspondent, NRC Handelsblad

15:45–17:00 Democratic legitimacy and accountability: Reinforcing at all levels

<u>Presentation</u>: Johannes Laitenberger, Head of Cabinet to President Barroso



Panel members:

Roberto Gualtieri, MEP

Member of Parliament of Member State (TBD)

Professor Miguel Poiares Maduro, Professor of European Law, European University Institute

Pierre Kroll, Belgian political commentator and cartoonist

<u>Moderator</u>: Brigid Laffan, Professor of European Politics, University College, Dublin