2016 ANNUAL SESSION OF THE PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

What future for the WTO?

Geneva, 13-14 June 2016

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

Monday, 13 June	
10:00 – 12:30	Pre-Conference session of the Steering Committee (in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters)
10:00 – 18:00	Registration of participants
15:00 – 15:30	 Inaugural session Mr. Krister Örnfjäder, MP (Sweden), Co-Chairman of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO Mr. Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Vice-President of the European
	 Parliament [tbc] Ms. Amina C. Mohamed Jibril, Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs (Kenya), Chairperson of the 10th WTO Ministerial Conference [tbc] Ambassador Harald Neple, Permanent Representative of Norway to the WTO, Chairperson of the WTO General Council
15:30 – 16:30	Presentation of reports and interactive debate on the substantive theme Making trade work for development after Nairobi
	<u>Rapporteurs</u>
	 Mr. Paul Rübig, Member of the European Parliament Mr. Anurag Singh Thakur, MP (India) Mr. Helmut Scholz, Member of the European Parliament Mr. Dennis Dumisani Gamede, MP (South Africa) [tbc]
16:30 – 18:00	Dialogue with senior WTO negotiators and officials WTO in the era of mega-regional trade agreements
	Guest Speakers
	 Ambassador Amr Ramadan, Permanent Representative of Egypt to the WTO, Chairman of the WTO Committee on Regional Trade Agreements [tbc] Ambassador Marc Vanheukelen, Permanent Representative of the
	 European Union to the WTO Ambassador Daniel Blockert, Permanent Representative of Sweden to the WTO, former Chairman of the WTO Committee on Regional Trade Agreements Ambassador Junichi Ihara, Permanent Representative of Japan to the WTO [tbc]
	Moderator Note: The control of the
	 Mr. Bernd Lange, Chairman of the Committee on International Trade of the European Parliament, Co-Chairman of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO
18:00 – 19:30	Reception at the WTO
20:00 – 22:00	Steering Committee (in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters)

Tuesday, 14 June	
10:00 – 11:00	Hearing with the WTO Director-General, Mr. Roberto Azevêdo Post-Nairobi work: reflections on the future of the WTO
11:00 – 13:00	Continuation of interactive debate on the substantive theme Making trade work for development after Nairobi
13:00 – 15:00	Lunch break
15:00 – 16:15	Panel discussion Trade as a vehicle of social progress: The gender perspective
	<u>Panellists</u>
	 Ms. Amina C. Mohamed Jibril, Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs (Kenya), Chairperson of the 10th WTO Ministerial Conference [tbc] Ms. Nurhayati Ali Assegaf, MP (Indonesia) Mr. Joseph Hyacinthe Owona Kono, MP (Cameroon) Ms. Arancha González, Executive Director, International Trade Centre
	<u>Moderator</u>
	 Ms. Inmaculada Rodríguez-Piñero Fernández, Member of the European Parliament
16:15 – 16:45	Keynote presentation Best practices: Trade-related capacity building
	Special guest
	 Mr. Mukhisa Kituyi, Secretary-General, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development [tbc]
16:45 – 17:30	Briefing session The riddles of the WTO dispute settlement system
17:30 – 18:00	Closing session: adoption of the outcome document