Europaudvalget 2017-18 EUU Alm.dei Bilag 374 Offentligt

PARLIAMENT OF THE CZECH REPUBLIC THE SENATE VÁCLAV HAMPL

CHAIRMAN OF THE COMMITTEE ON EUROPEAN UNION AFFAIRS

Prague, 9 February 2018

To: Frans Timmermans, First Vice-President of the European Commission, Chair of the Task Force on Subsidiarity, Proportionality and "Doing Less More Efficiently"

Dear First Vice-President Timmermans,

I am contacting you in your capacity of the Chair of the Task Force on Subsidiarity, Proportionality and "Doing Less More Efficiently".

Please let me forward to you, on behalf of chairpersons or COSAC delegates of EU affairs committees of 21 national parliaments or parliamentary chambers, a written contribution (a paper) to the Task Force. I would like to ask you to kindly instruct the secretariat of the Task Force to distribute this letter and the paper to the members of the Task Force.

The annexed paper brings together various COSAC Contributions on the implementation of the principle of subsidiarity and formulates concrete recommendations we believe the Task Force should consider. I hope that issues repeatedly raised by COSAC in relation to the principle of subsidiarity will be included in the agenda of the Task Force.

I would also like to emphasize that this contribution does not preclude any further contributions from the signatories to the work of the Task Force.

I am looking forward to our further cooperation.

Yours sincerely,

Václav Hampl

Peter Luykx Member of the Federal Advisory Committee on EU Affairs House of Representatives, Belgium Simone Susskind Member of the Federal Advisory Committee on EU Affairs Senate, Belgium Yiorgos Lillikas Chair of the House Standing Committee on Foreign and European Affairs, House of Representatives, Cyprus

Erik Christensen Chair of the European Affairs Committee Parliament of Denmark

Anne-Mari Virolainen Chair of the Grand Committee Parliament of Finland

Michael Healy-Rae Chair of the Joint Committee on European Union Affairs Houses of Oireachtas, Ireland

Glenn Bedingfield Member of Foreign and European Affairs Committee House of Representatives, Malta

Bastian van Apeldoorn Chair of the Standing Committee on European Affairs Senate, the Netherlands

Gabriela Crețu Chair of the European Affairs Committee Senate, Romania

Kamal Izidor Shaker Chair of the Committee on EU Affairs National Assembly, Slovenia

Lord Boswell of Aynho Chair of the EU Select Committee House of Lords, United Kingdom Ondřej Benešík Chair of the Committee on EU Affairs Chamber of Deputies, Czech Republic

Jaak Madison Vice-Chair of the European Union Affairs Committee Parliament of Estonia

Richárd Hörcsik Chair of the Committee on European Affairs National Assembly, Hungary

Marc Angel Chair of the Committee on Foreign and European Affairs, Defence, Cooperation and Immigration Chamber of Deputies, Luxembourg

Malik Azmani Chair of the Standing Committee on European Affairs House of Representatives, the Netherlands

Roxana Mînzatu Member of the European Affairs Committee Chamber of Deputies, Romania

Katarína Cséfalvayová Vice-Chair of the European Affairs Committee National Council, Slovakia

Bojan Kekec Chair of the Commission for International Relations and European Affairs National Council, Slovenia

Annex: How to better apply the principle of subsidiarity and the subsidiarity control mechanism – Recommendations to the Task Force on Subsidiarity, Proportionality and "Doing Less More Efficiently" based on Contributions of the COSAC (Paper from the COSAC delegation of the Senate of Parliament of the Czech Republic).