



REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA Parliament

## Meeting of the COSAC Chairpersons

Vienna, 8-9 July 2018 Draft programme

## Sunday, 8 July 2018

14:00 – 19:00	Arrival of delegations and registration at the hotels
16:45	Departure from the hotels
17:00 -	DemocracyQuarter WalkingTour
approx. 18:00	Visit of the interim location of the Austrian Parliament during the
	renovation of the historic Parliament building
18:15	Return to the hotels
	Meeting of the Presidential Troika of COSAC
17:40	Departure from the hotels
18:00	Meeting of the Presidential Troika
	Venue: Parliament-Hofburg, Room 5
	Entrance: Pavilion Bibliothekshof
	Departure for the dinner
18:45	Departure from the hotels
19:30	Dinner hosted by the Chairperson of the Permanent Subcommittee
	on EU Affairs of the National Council and the Chairperson of the EU
	Committee of the Federal Council
	Dinner speech by Ms. Karoline Edtstadler, State Secretary, Federal
	Ministry of the Interior, on "The global responsibility of the EU"
	Venue: Restaurant Kahlenberg, Am Kahlenberg 2-3, 1190 Vienna
approx. 22:30	Return to the hotels

## Monday, 9 July 2018

8:00	Departure from the hotels
8:30	Opening of the meeting of the COSAC Chairpersons
	Venue: Parliament-Hofburg, Großer Redoutensaal
	Entrance: 1010 Vienna, Josefsplatz 4
	Welcome addresses:
	Mr. Wolfgang Sobotka, President of the National Council
	Ms. Inge Posch-Gruska, President of the Federal Council
	Chairperson's introductory remarks
8:45	Adoption of the agenda
	Procedural issues and miscellaneous matters
	- Briefing on the results of the Presidential Troika of COSAC
	- Draft agenda of the LX. COSAC
	- Outline of the 30 <sup>th</sup> Bi-annual Report of COSAC
	- Letters received by the Presidency
	- Others
9:15	Session 1: Priorities of the Austrian Presidency of the Council of
9.10	the EU
	Keynote speaker:
	Mr. Gernot Blümel
	Federal Minister within the Federal Chancellery for the EU, Arts, Culture
	and Media
	Debate
10:30	Family photo and coffee break

11:00	Session 2: Future and perspectives of the European Union
	Keynote speakers:
	Mr. Frans Timmermans
	First Vice President of the European Commission
	Ms. Mairead McGuinness
	Vice President of the European Parliament
	Ms. Ulrike Guérot
	Head of Department for European Policy and the Study of Democracy
	Danube University Krems
	Debate
12:55	Chairperson's closing remarks
13:00	Lunch
	Venue: Parliament-Hofburg, Dachfoyer
14:30	Return to the hotels
	Departure of delegations