

Parliamentary Dimension of the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union

Draft as of 3 October 2017

Plenary Meeting of the LVIII COSAC 26–28 November 2017, Tallinn

Draft programme

Sunday, 26 November 2017

15:00–19:00 Arrival of the delegations and registration for the meeting at the hotels

	Meeting of the Presidential Troika of COSAC
17:00	Departure by bus from the hotels
17:30–19:00	Meeting of the Presidential Troika Venue: Conference Hall of the Riigikogu, Lossi plats 1a, Tallinn
19:00	Departure by bus for the dinner
19:00	Departure by bus from the hotels to the dinner venue
19:30	Dinner hosted by Mr Toomas VITSUT , Chairman of the European Union Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu Venue: Seaplane Harbour, Vesilennuki 6, Tallinn
22:30	Return to the hotels by bus

Monday, 27 November 2017

	Meetings of the political groups
7:45	Departure by bus from the hotels
8:30–9:30	Meetings of the political groups Venue: Saku Suurhall, Paldiski maantee 104b, Tallinn
8:30	Departure by bus from the hotels to the conference venue Venue: Saku Suurhall, Paldiski maantee 104b, Tallinn
9:30–9:45	Opening of the meeting Welcome address by Mr Eiki NESTOR, President of the Riigikogu



Introductory remarks by **Mr Toomas VITSUT**, Chairman of the European Union Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu

Adoption of the agenda for the Plenary Meeting of the LVIII COSAC

9:45-10:00

Procedural issues and miscellaneous matters

- Information on the results of the Presidential Troika of COSAC
- Presentation of the 28th Bi-annual Report of COSAC
- Letters received by the Presidency
- Procedural issues

10:00-11:30

Session I: The future of the European Union

Speakers:

Mrs Kersti KALJULAID, President of the Republic of Estonia

Mr Michel BARNIER, Chief Negotiator of the Task Force for the Preparation and Conduct of the Negotiations with the United Kingdom under Article 50 TEU

Ms Danuta Maria HÜBNER, Chairperson of the Committee on Constitutional Affairs of the European Parliament

Debate

11:30-13:00

Family photo and lunch

13:00-14:30

Session II: Bringing Europe closer to its citizens: what are the best practices of the national parliaments?

Speakers:

Ms Katrin AUEL, Associate Professor in the Research Group European Integration, Vienna Institute for Advanced Studies

Mr Pieter OMTZIGT, Member of the European Affairs Committee, House of Representatives of the Netherlands (tbc)

Mr Kristian VIGENIN, Chair of the Committee on European Affairs and Oversight of the European Funds, National Assembly of Bulgaria

Ms Mairead McGUINESS, First Vice-President of the European Parliament

Debate

14:30-15:00

Coffee break

15:00-16:30

Session III: Digital Single Market: current developments of e-services

Speakers:

Mr Siim SIKKUT, Deputy Secretary General for Communications and State Information Systems, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications





Mr Gunther KRICHBAUM, Chairman of the Committee on the Affairs of the European Union, German Bundestag (tbc)

Representative of National Parliament

Debate

16:30 Return to the hotels by bus

16:30–18:00 Meeting of COSAC Chairpersons

Debate on the Draft Contribution and Draft Conclusions of the LVIII COSAC

18:00 Return to the hotels by bus

19:00 Departure by bus from the hotels to the dinner venue

19:30 **Dinner** hosted by **Mr Toomas VITSUT**, Chairman of the European Union Affairs

Committee of the Riigikogu

Venue: Estonia Concert Hall, Estonia puiestee 4, Tallinn

23:00 Return to the hotels by bus

Tuesday, 28 November 2017

8:15 Departure by bus from the hotels to the conference venue

Venue: Saku Suurhall, Paldiski maantee 104b, Tallinn

9:00–10:15 Session IV: State of play: building an effective and sustainable Security Union

Speaker: Mr Julian KING, European Commissioner for Security Union

Debate

10:15–11:30 Session V: The external dimension of migration: preventing and combating

irregular migration

Speakers:

Mr Dimitris AVRAMOPOULOS, European Commissioner for Migration, Home

Affairs and Citizenship (tbc)

Mr Edward ZAMMIT LEWIS, Chairman of the Foreign and European Affairs

Committee, House of Representatives of Malta

Ms Anne-Mari VIROLAINEN, Chair of the Grand Committee, Parliament of Finland

Debate

11:30–12:00 **Coffee break**



12:00-12:30	Adoption of the Contributions and Conclusions of the LVIII COSAC
12:30–12:45	Closing remarks by Mr Toomas VITSUT , Chairman of the European Union Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu
12:45–14:30	Lunch
14:30	Return to the hotels by bus. Departure of the delegations.