



Sofia / Brussels 6 September 2018

Dear Chairs, dear colleagues,

The National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria and the European Parliament organise on October 5, 2018 in Sofia the Interparliamentary Conference "Transforming the Western Balkans region – a parliamentary perspective on the role and the future of EU accession process".

The Conference is dedicated to the leading priority of the Bulgarian Presidency of the Council of the European Union and it takes place within the framework of the Support Program that the European Parliament provides to the parliaments of EU accession process.

The aim of this event is to enable parliamentarians from the European Parliament, Western Balkans and EU Member States to discuss continuity and effectiveness of their efforts to strengthen the European perspective of the region. The Conference will outline the role of parliaments in conducting necessary reforms in the process of preparation for EU accession and in the debate on the future of the European Union.

Representatives of regional non-governmental organizations and media will also take part in the Conference, which will enrich the discussion with their perspective on the transformative effects of the European integration process over the political, economic and social situation in the Western Balkans region.

We are therefore pleased to invite your Parliament/Chamber to participate in the Conference by sending a representative or delegation who would have an interest in the discussions on the envisaged topics.

A draft programme of the Interparliamentary Conference is attached. All other documents will be sent to you in a timely manner. Interpretation in English and the languages of the participating Western Balkan delegations will be provided for the duration of the conference.

We look forward to your parliament's participation in our discussions and to a fruitful debate.

**Dzhema Grozdanova** Chair of Foreign Affairs Committee National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria

and Musllister

**David McAllister** Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs European Parliament